Auto Insurance for Douglasville, GA
Georgia continues to expand its footprint with new roadways, businesses and housing. Changing traffic patterns and development bring unfamiliar driving patterns, and accidents are an unwanted certainty.
Douglasville, Georgia, is located 20 miles west of Atlanta and is part of the Atlanta metro area. Drivers encounter suburban traffic and city driving, which means they need auto insurance to safeguard their vehicles and themselves.
What Type of Car Insurance Is Required in Georgia?
Drivers in Georgia are only required to carry liability car insurance to drive legally. Liability car insurance contains two types of coverage: bodily injury and property damage liability. Bodily injury coverage pays any medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from an accident in which you are at fault. Property damage liability covers damages you do to the property of another.
Additional auto coverage provides further protection, and you should consider adding:
Collision: This coverage helps you repair damagesto your vehicle that you sustained in a collision with another vehicle or fixed object (other than animals).
Comprehensive: This coverage helps cover damages to your vehicle (including collisions with animals). When paired with collision coverage, this is known as full coverage.
Gap coverage: If you lease or finance your vehicle, this coverage pays the difference in the actual cash value of your vehicle and what you still owe on your loan.
Roadside assistance: If you find yourself broken down on the road, this coverage isbeneficial.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Georgia?
Medical payments: This coverage goes toward the medical bills or funeral expenses you incur or those in your vehicle up to the policy limits (typically between $5,000 and $10,000). Coverage is provided regardless of who is at fault.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Georgia requires all state car insurerstooffer uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. This insurance covers injuries or property damage if you are harmed in an accident where an uninsured or underinsured driver is at fault.
Georgia drivers pay auto insurance premiums based on various factors, including age, gender, credit score and driving record. On average, drivers pay approximately $116 a month for auto insurance.
Can Someone Drive My Car if They Are Not on My Insurance?
It’s not illegal to let someone else drive your car, but it’s a risk. When someone borrows your car, they also borrow your insurance coverage—if they cause an accident, you could end up filing a claim with your insurance covering the costs. Insurance applies to the vehicle, not who’s driving the vehicle.
How Long Do You Have To Get Insurance on a Car in Georgia?
If you purchase a new vehicle in Georgia, you have a new car insurance grace period of 2 to 30 days. Use this time to add your vehicle to an existing insurance policy or to purchase new auto insurance.
If you buy a used vehicle, your grace period is 7 to 30 days. You should immediately notify your insurance company the same day you purchase your vehicle so they can remove your old vehicle if you’re not keeping it.
If you decide to drive your vehicle without insurance in Georgia, it’s a misdemeanor, and you can face:
How We Can Help
Up to one year in jail
$25 fine (plus $160 if you don’t pay the fine in 60 days)
License suspension for 60 to 90 days
Possible vehicle impoundment
Just because you meet Georgia’s minimums on auto insurance doesn’t mean you’re adequately insured. Call Hembree Insurance today in Douglasville at 770-942-3366, and let us put together an auto insurance package for your specific needs.